Brocken Inaglory/Wikimedia

Watch The Transit of Mercury Live Here!

From the comfort of your couch.

FIONA MACDONALD
9 MAY 2016
 

On Monday May 9, the Solar System is putting on quite a show for us. For the first time in a decade, Mercury will pass between the Sun and Earth. If you've got the right gear (and favourable weather conditions), you can head outside and watch it for yourself. Otherwise, hang with us and stay glued to the live stream above, via Slooh.

The whole thing kicks off just after 7am EDT (9pm AEST, 11am UTC) on May 9, and Mercury will take around 8 hours to make its glorious way across the Sun.

More From ScienceAlert

The supplement industry is barely regulated and it's endangering actual lives

"Most people don't consider it a medication... and so she didn't tell us."

39 minutes ago
ScienceAlert Deal: Here's how to get 2TB of cheap, secure cloud storage
1 day ago
This new class of chemical reaction just turned out to be extremely important

It's a new frontier of chemistry and we're freaking out.

1 hour ago